Emerging from Safeway…

Emerging from Safeway on a Saturday night cradling 20-pound box of scoopable kitty litter, 9 Heath bars and a take-and-bake pizza, I realized I was the most Single Woman on Earth. Of course, the guy in line behind me was the Most Single Man on Earth, with his 3 frozen pizzas, loaf of white bread, and frozen hash browns.

If life was a romantic comedy, I would have dropped my keys on the way out, he would have picked them up for me, and we’d be window shopping in North Beach together — eyes awkwardly averted from the strip clubs on Broadway, and me thinking he would Pass the Test  if he wouldn’t let us walk past City Lights Books without going in.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

